And now the madness of the season begins…

Perhaps it is a sign of me being cynical as I have gotten older, but for some reason this time of year does not thrill me as much as it did in the past. [Yes I am thanful for the roof over the head, the friends I have - including one particular one across the pond, my cats and the gang of 5 who are keeping me alive] It seems that what was so special about this season, which was when all of us turned into curious children to marvel at the store window displays of all sorts of toys as well as magnificent train sets [something I have promised to build for the cats one day is an HO or N gague layout so they can train their eyes on the rails or even knock over a locomotive with their paws].But it is no longer the same….as in that we have seen this time of year more and more become the season of greed. Or put another way….it is now more of the ‘he or she who has the most toys now….wins’ mental space that now rules.

In addition to that, it seems that no longer is genuine displays of affection for friends, paramours or others not good enough unless they are accompanied by carbon-based, multifaceted objects [‘diamonds’ for those who did not get the science reference]. Gee…if I had known it would be that easy to sway the hears of others, I would have each year around this time had gotten a loan from 52nd Street Irwin for these little trinkets not only for my crush, but also for the cats. A little bit in the sentimental side, but that is me…I guess part of the overall maturing process…plus I had and still do beleive that love for one’s fellow human/carbon based unit cannot be quantified by rocks…

Perhaps my man Dr. Suess had it right when in the Grinch, he wrote ‘Christmas does not come from a store….perhaps Christmas means a little bit more…’.Truer words were never spoken and these days, the good Dr.’s words seem to be more and more background noise or just something that was on a television special [trivia for those of you into this: The Grinch initially was aired by CBS during the heyday of such programs being the forte of those really creative boys and girls from Rankin/Bass. Also that green fellow was one of the classic animation characters to have come from the wonderfully warped mind of the late Chuck Jones]

And those words and thoughts are something to keep in mind while one is on line at Target, Macy’s, Bloomingdales, Harrod’s, Marks and Spencer, Freddy Kroger when one sees those who have or apprear to have succumbed to the urge to oversplurge. Of course, if you run into yours truly, I will be doing my part to keep those scribblings from Suess/Jones in my heart and will have a Renaissance Christmas concert on the portable CD player [this one done for WNEW-FM on December, 15ht 1976…and it still sounds as fresh now as it did then] along with playing an airguitar/sax to one of the songs. WHich in turn….may just put another smile on the face. Not a forced one….just one
 

jsut the same.


 

 

About rheapdx1

Just another geekette from the Pacific Northwest. Windows computer tech, as well as the mom to 2 cats. My blog is more or less about life; the adventures in fixing PC's, the trips to the doctors....otherwise known as my 'gang of five who keep me alive', the cats...and thoughts about a particular person who I am deeply smitten with [if the person only knew how deep that goes *S*]. Otherwise, this is ordinary.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

