Closing in on a couple sober anniversaries here

Well the season, known in some corners of this country and world as the bachanalia of greed [from ‘A Christmas Story’] is in full swing and perhaps, like what was mentioned in the last dispatch…I may be getting older when it no longer thrills me. The transit system is becoming more and more filled with youngsters who are dressed for a felony, while some of the merchants are cheery -†a few I know are dreading this time of year due to not just the crowds, but also the fact that the sales numbers are down. In a period when there is supposed to be ‘change we can believe in’ , more and more of the streets look like that pivotal sequence from ‘A Christmas Carol’ featuring the ‘Ghost of Christmas Present’.† [For those who are not familiar with that this reference is, rent any of the last 5 versions of this story from Netflix and you will get the gist]

Around here also there are a couple sobering reminders of this season coming up. One of them involves the passing of a cat that my former roomie and I had, Emmy. Emmy was a wonderful cat, white with black markings and was part of the glue of the original 3 we had. She had died the day after Christmas several years ago…the roomie and I thought she had gone to heaven to keep Simon, her brother company who had passed on 2 months earlier. So each time Christmas since I remind my two current of the extended family members who were lost and watch over them.

The other reminder has to do with my medical condition. In a few weeks, it will be two years snice I was in the ER and the subsequent stay after, as well as the diagnosis of congestive heart failure, kidney failure, gout and fluid in the lungs.. These two years are also referred to by my cardiologist, Steve as being the initial survival period, due to CHF paitients either having relapses, or needed another hospital stay, bypasses or transplants. So far, so good….actually got rather lucky..and I say that with a certain amount of caution. The medicines are working, the ‘oil changes’ are proving the numbers….at least as far as the heart is concerned are stable. Conventional wisdom says if one†gets beyond the first 2, then†the next milestone is †5 and then who knows from there.

Now if for some reason all of what was mentioned in the last paragraph does come to pass…maybe other things will bloom larger as well. Yes I still let my crush know what is going on….and it is my hope that there is more time left in the hourglass longterm for things to happen [maybe, to quote the late George Carlin….’we’ll go to extra innings, we do not know when it is going to end!!’]. If there is I will be eternally happy….just like I am with the fact that my cats and I have that little family here…even with their waking me up a 2,3 and 4am to either feed them or play.

Before closing this one out….looks like thar diet of mine is actually working….

slowly but surely. The only way something like this works overnight is through surgery…and currently unless there is a major major major miracle that will insure an anesthesiologist is not the last face I see on the planet…that is not going to happen. Besides, the approach I am working with now is actually doing the job….so no surgery, no SlimFast, Metrocal [for those who are of my age and remember the Mad Magazine inspired joke about that….’MeterKill’]

So with that…..unless something else happens….til later on and if you get a Red Ryder Air Rifle BB gun under the tree….don’t play with it the wrong way. You’ll shoot your eyes out!!!

About rheapdx1

Just another geekette from the Pacific Northwest. Windows computer tech, as well as the mom to 2 cats. My blog is more or less about life; the adventures in fixing PC's, the trips to the doctors....otherwise known as my 'gang of five who keep me alive', the cats...and thoughts about a particular person who I am deeply smitten with [if the person only knew how deep that goes *S*]. Otherwise, this is ordinary.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

