You know things are getting strange when….

It has happened again, the sun is out, the air is warm so it is time for ….ooops almost had a 70’s flashback to ‘Crazy Eddie’ [voiced by Jerry Carroll of WOR in NYC, kids ask your parents, especially if they lived in New York in the 70’s and 80’s]. But we are getting a minor preview of spring in the wonderous burg. A little warmth…people actually behaving like humans [ok that was out at the stores] and my cats getting a suntan in the windows.

If you are wondering in re: the title, it has to do with something my oldest cat did yesterday when a friend of mine stopped by so we can do some retail therapy. This was a long overdue trip for both of us; she needed some items for the wardrobe and myself some bridge items til next weekend. When she arrived here my youngest cat

 

cat, Marissa was being her overly friendly self. Semi loud purrs, meows -  she really loves people. So much to the point she was turning my friend’s jeans into her own scratching post. [This by the by was sort of the reception people would get in our old home years ago when we had our siamese Shrimpy, she would do the same thing, but also would keep up a conversation with any human]  But it was what Rachel did what really was kind of a stunner..

Her look towards my friend was several times more severe than

 

what you see here. Yes she is very protective, actually overtly so. And for several reasons. After Margie [a pic of her is on my Flickr page] who was just as direct in her feelinga about me and other people passed on, Rachel was keeping an eye on me like I was gold. No store trip could be made, no walk to even get the mail or even pic taking session could be done without her approval And she meant well on that, did not want me to walk out and not return.  Hence I adopted Marissa [same shelter that Rachel came from – the Cat Adoption Team] to keep her company.

Her stare and reaction to my friend was scary to say the least. [Not even when the KC Chiefs lose is she this mean…and she is a fan of theirs!!!] As in this is my human, she is spoken for, emotionally by another human and you had better not think otherwise. It was strange and had haunted me all evening after my buddy dropped me off here before heading back across the river to Olympia. I am so used to Rachel and Marissa riding shotgun when I am on the PC and the net. But it is Rachel who will make sure that for one, if I promise to get a letter out to the one I have the crush on and love like mad I had better do so or sleeping that evening will be a pain in the neck and for another if I say that I am going to run errands to pick up their food, it is done….or else. Those who honestly think that cats are just pets whose purpose is being a living decoration are sorely mistaken. Many are humans with two extra legs, fur, mini sabre teeth/fangs [and in the case here…love sports, movies music]

Speaking of music, my friend dropped off a portable keyboard for me. As soon as I get it spruced up….I will be able to do at home what I have done over at Target [see a previous post or links to another blog post about same]. Yes I can allow my inner John Tout, Mick Taylor, Rave Tesar, Mickey Simmonds and Tom Brislin show through LOL. [In case you are wondering who those folks are they all have one band in common…..Renaissance….if you have not guessed already *S*] But it will mean that the folks at Target will be deprived of seeing:



 

yours truly rocking on the Casio or mini Yamaha while waiting for the scripts of Lasix, et al to be filled… 

Til next time folks…..
 

About rheapdx1

Just another geekette from the Pacific Northwest. Windows computer tech, as well as the mom to 2 cats. My blog is more or less about life; the adventures in fixing PC's, the trips to the doctors....otherwise known as my 'gang of five who keep me alive', the cats...and thoughts about a particular person who I am deeply smitten with [if the person only knew how deep that goes *S*]. Otherwise, this is ordinary.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

