For once…some weird high notes…

Well this week is now in the books and  I am still a tad…actually more than a tad stunned by what happened after the holiday….

For one, a longterm PC repair client of mine called in due to the fact his PC was again acting up. This time, the OS created by the evil empire, I mean Microsoft stated that


‘config.sys is either missing or corrupt and the system cannot start’

proceeding after to say that this can either be fixed through a restart, copying the file from a version of Windows or…dare I say this…reinstalling the OS. The last step is usually the nuclear option, in that unless the all data that said person wants to keep is backed up, it is lost [that is a minor misnomer: there is a way to recover data that was overwritten by a new install of Windows, due to the fact that its electronic/magnetic signature is still and will be on the harddrive. In recent years there have been several programs created which can be deployed to bring those files back from the brink..a few of which are available through various means]. So we had spent the better part of Tuesday evening and then Wednesday morning working to get the system back to working condition [this along with creating several software packets with Roxio’s Creator Software to be used to backing up data] and when we ran the Repair Console…then rebooted…a miracle happened. The system came back to life. It has a heartbeat [and in speaking with the client this morning, it is still working]….YAY. WOW!

After all the time put in on this, I needed to get a little rest, but was then woekn up from a dreamscape that featured my crush and my cats  [It is a romantic one folks, nothing like what you some of folks would think!!], a call came in from the lovely folks from Social Security. This was what I was told by my attorney to expect, just to re-verify the information from before. It was in the course of the conversation that there is a new recalculation of the numbers….and the payments will be MORE than what we had figured. This includes the retroed amount which will be done in installments. To show you how far out of it I was when this was mentioned to me, my answers and questions were along the lines of a ‘Jane Friday’ [think in terms of the old TV series ‘Dragnet’ and you will get the idea] and it did not really hit that this is a major turnaround. Assuming that nothing else were to go astray, the funds will allow the cats and I to be in good shape for a long time.

We then go to Thursday which was a doctor’s visit [‘oil change’] doubleheader. The results were for the eyes, my left is a tad weaker and I have dry eyes currently due to the medications that I am on [which can be remedied by a specific type of eyedrops]. The really good news was relayed by Todd, my nephrologist. We had a fantastic visit and he mentioned that the kidney numbers are actually BETTER than what we had expected. Not great, but there was some more improvement…plus the tests indicated that the heart was also getting a tad better…but not completely out of the woods. In fact, the damage that did happen as a result of the congestive heart failure is permanent, so that even with with the medications, it cannot be undone. As long as the numbers are consistent though….I will be around for a good long while.

As was said the good news that happened here left me stunned. Yes I did share this with my crush, my cats as well as my friends….and this leads into something else. Aside from those who I know through one chat site [and I mean know well enough over the years] the ones who have been there practically each day are the ones in Twitter and here on MS. Yes some of the followers in Twitter seem to be more business-link post centered, but the real friends through there are the ones who are genuine human beings. They are from all over the US, Canada, the EU [including quite a few from the crush’s home country], Japan, the Philippines and other points of interest on the planet. That has helped in many ways to keep the sanity, as well as having helped me to get beyond the dull and stagnant times. Quite a few have a fire about life that is a real joy to see and I get a charge from seeing this, as in being a tad inspired here to embrace more of the positive aspects of life, vis a vis being mired in some type of omnipresent malaise.

Before I do close this out, the new cam is working wonders. Even indoors, which I went with due to it raining….again….the other day…


 
An indoor test of the new cam | Kind of a coy smile... | Randi          

To say the least, these are not only showing the diet is still working, but indoors as well the image really does work out quite well!!! And may consider one of these for future business cards.

So that is it for the time being….enjoy the pics and the colourcast as the pics fly through the air!!

 

About rheapdx1

Just another geekette from the Pacific Northwest. Windows computer tech, as well as the mom to 2 cats. My blog is more or less about life; the adventures in fixing PC's, the trips to the doctors....otherwise known as my 'gang of five who keep me alive', the cats...and thoughts about a particular person who I am deeply smitten with [if the person only knew how deep that goes *S*]. Otherwise, this is ordinary.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

