Part one of the settlement has arrived….YAY

Yes…the light at the end of the tunnel, in a financial vein did arrive. But in a sense this was a minor highlight of a long end of the week….

Towards the middle of same, I got a call from one of my longterm clients. This is one of the folks I play part-time shrink for…the bus driver contingent [if you ever rode on a particular line here in Portland, you would understand exactly why these folks need someone to talk to…..they cannot yell at stupid drivers anymore due to some rather anal retentive rules] and his machine seems to have acted as though it was headed for boot hill. We had been through this on several occassions and well this time it was so bad that neither Firefox or IE7 would work, mail could not be retrieved, the firewall was off and files were missing all over the place. In ordinary hands, the next few sentences would have included the phrases ‘format/reinstall’. But these hands here are not ordinary.

Over the course of 2 days and several very long phone calls [for which the cats did not forgive me] on Thursday night…it all came together. This was a matter resetting IE7 to run sans any add ons, temporarily closing out Zone Alarm and the firewall as well as running CHKDSK.†The harddrive does not need to be replaced, although at some point it will be. Any machine that is run 24/7/365 will have a shorter life expectancy [barring of course it is a large server or runs on ‘blades’…a creation of folks like IBM and HP] than those which are turned off at the end of the day. But that is personal preference…

The fix on Thursday night came after getting paid for the previous day’s work, several Snapple teas and a pizza from a chain I will not mention ….except that their name is referenced in a rather old song by Van Morrison. The mind was charged and then just went to town as I usually do, looking for every possible fix in the book and then some. Whenit was fixed, I am sure even my crush heard me yelling from across the pond a huge YAY [I would have said ‘HELL YES’ but with this client I have to be careful with the colourful metaphors…besides he sometimes let’s me slide on the busfare]. We then went over the IE7 settings pwhich were intact after installing IE on top of itself..and yes it does work…but one needs to be careful. If it is installing IE8 over 7, this may not work, history and favorites may be lost. But for some reason….the PC gods were riding with me, all is well and as I posted to the crush after the fact ‘MY CATS AND I ARE THE BADDEST TECHS ALIVE!!!!!’

On Friday come to find out part one of the settlement had arrived in the mail. As had been mentioned before, this will be done in two parts and due to the fact that there is some discretion involved….I am not really at liberty to mention the total amount. Well that cash is now in hand..and much like the farmer who is planning a couple years down the road…I made sure that not just the roof over the head is dealt with, but that the necessities will be shored up. This does include new contacts, hair for work as well as outside of same [backups to backups] and the line. But I did not go hogwild, if only because to be honest, I have been doing things on an auterity budget for so long that the thrill of blowing money on things is not there anymore. Part of the maturing process I guess.

Oh yes, I did take advantage of the other day’s nice weather to get some new pics done for a possible business card . Now much like what was mentioned before…this is up for a vote, folks so let’s have a little fun. The newer candidates are

††

as well as

Of course, someone else has been notified and she will have first pick on this *S* But heck yeah the rest of y’all chime in as well…..and this includes those of my Twitter family who are as eclectic as I am…..

That is the news from here….enjoy the colourcast as the pics fly through the air…..

About rheapdx1

Just another geekette from the Pacific Northwest. Windows computer tech, as well as the mom to 2 cats. My blog is more or less about life; the adventures in fixing PC's, the trips to the doctors....otherwise known as my 'gang of five who keep me alive', the cats...and thoughts about a particular person who I am deeply smitten with [if the person only knew how deep that goes *S*]. Otherwise, this is ordinary.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

