Another interim one…left out a couple things from before.

It occurred to me after the last post that I had left out a couple minor items. So while I was pondering


this I remembered what they were….and for my crush should You be reading this, this is an expanded version of what was in an email. Of all things..this one is owed to a trip to one of our major bookstores in town to look for a couple books by Dr. Robert L. Forward.

While they did not have the main one I was looking for, ‘Rocheworld’ they did have ‘The Flight of The Dragonfly’ which is the abridged version of ‘Rocheworld’ [Both of which are science fiction books where the science is as accurate as possible without minor violations to the laws of physics]. On my way to the checkout, I went by the magazine rack to check out some railroading mags. Before any of y’all say it, yes I am a train freak, a rail fan among other things. So while browsing the rack, I saw a publication called Railroads Illustrated which had a cover story about urban rail operations in Seattle, as well as the expansion of the public transit facilities there. Ah this brought back some memories and a little bit of a history lesson…And to start this off….’Once upon a time…..’

Yours truly was involved in the effort to get the second version of a mass transit plan for Seattle back in the 90’s. This had to do with a public access TV program I produced and hosted and also doing some media consultancy for the transit agency in town. While this was voted down in the counties outside of Seattle [due to expense], eventually a plan was voted on and it is now being built line by line, tunnel by tunnel etc. However, the aritcle made me smile a little bit in that while myself and the others I knew at that time who worked on this campaign have moved on to other things, the fact that the system is now moving forward is like a legacy. While there are no plaques, no railcars bearing the names of those who did the grunt work…we/they are there in spirit and what was done is now benefiting all walks of life in the city on the sound. And all walks of life can actually work towards that instead of engaging in things which may only do good for a rather narrow band of people or be done initially with one set of intentions and then end up in a more purient vein….

So yes I do have a legacy. Even if it is a rail one, it is a legacy none the less. In mentioning this to the cats, ok they were…’that’s nice mom but aren’t the Chiefs and Chargers starting the preseason this weekend?’ Well yes they did this weekend, the Chiefs lost, Chargers won and I now have to be careful about where I sit as well as make sure they are kept away from the pantihose.

Before I close this one out…and this is for that friend of mine…the lyrics here are more appropo now than at any other time. Let’s put it this way: my cats are able to understand what is going on, but when your fave lyricist can put it down to words and do so in such a really wonderful fashion, there is something to all of this.

Well that is the post for now till a few days hence,  so in the words of the late Tom Snyder….enjoy the colourcast as the pics fly through the air.

About rheapdx1

Just another geekette from the Pacific Northwest. Windows computer tech, as well as the mom to 2 cats. My blog is more or less about life; the adventures in fixing PC's, the trips to the doctors....otherwise known as my 'gang of five who keep me alive', the cats...and thoughts about a particular person who I am deeply smitten with [if the person only knew how deep that goes *S*]. Otherwise, this is ordinary.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

