No Virginia, a heart monitor is not an Ipod

One of the sure signs that one is getting older is that there are the gray hairs showing up or someone may have a tendency to forget relatively simple things. Such as where the keys to the cars are or the exact syntax of the equation for Avagadro’s Number *S* Regretably, in the case here, it has meant that the heart is acting up and now needs to be monitored.

Let’s drop back to this past weekend when I went over to the urgent care clinic because the heart decided to start racing worse than an old Chevy engine with the wrong type of gas in same. There is a partial worry that this would happen when there is an inordinately extra amount of caffiene that is added to the diet [or one is taking an appetite suppressant like Slimquick]. But it had been racing before this, but would usually stop after a short while [amazing…it never happens when I think of my crush, play with the cats or listen to Renaissance or other forms of classical rock….coincidence? I think not *S*] however, in this case, these were different. So I went over, talked with the doc on duty [really freaking cool…these folks know me by now and yes even about Rae and Marty], had an EKG done which while it was BETTER than the previous ones, indicated there is a problem. Rather…it is trouble, which beings with ‘T’ that rhymes with ‘P’ which begins the word palpitations…among other funny issues. It was recommended that I then call Steve the cardio in a couple days to see what his view of this was.

Steve actually was in a better mood than when he gently read me the riot act a couple weeks back [Iowa being in contention for a Big 10 title and a berth in the Rose Bowl will do that *S*]. And under his recommendation, I am now wearing a King of Hearts Heart Monitor. So help me, that is the name of the darn thing. About the size of an Ipod or a knockoff MP3 player, it is to be worn for the next 30 days, each ‘event’ that happens to be recorded by the device, as well as a diary of same. No wearing of same in the shower, let alone any exposure to any water, lest one wants to either be electrocuted or call out the pulmotor EMTs.  When the end of that time arrives, the next couple steps in this will be determined.

That is not what is worrying me about this entire process. After all, these kids….that ‘gang of 5’ are doing one hell of a job. And it is also not like we are doing anything insane in this to ‘stay with the crowd’ [as in self medicate for other reasons, which is about as foolhardy as doing self surgery for something as complicated as…let’s say removal of the appendix]. What does bother me in this is that in going through the right steps during this crisis of the OEM parts, the right things are being done…and yet it is swimming against the tide. No this is not a pity party….far from it. If you were to ask anyone….the crush, my friends, the cats [yes them too] and others, they will tell you I do not engage in anything like that. Plus like all Vulcans, I have no ego to bruise *S*. But I do have a heart that worries about if, heaven forbid the timeframe after all of this is severely limited, that there may not be the time or other things left to do what I want to do. Not so much a bucket list, but things that are on the mind that would bring a little more happiness to not just yours truly but to others I know. Maybe fate will be kinder here and like at the close of a soccer [what my buds across the pond call ‘footy’ or ‘football’] and grant me a little extra time…[folks who know me already know who and what are on that agenda as it is *S*]

So that is the news, sports, weather for now. Be it with or without the colortini…please enjoy the pics and the words as they fly through the air.

About rheapdx1

Just another geekette from the Pacific Northwest. Windows computer tech, as well as the mom to 2 cats. My blog is more or less about life; the adventures in fixing PC's, the trips to the doctors....otherwise known as my 'gang of five who keep me alive', the cats...and thoughts about a particular person who I am deeply smitten with [if the person only knew how deep that goes *S*]. Otherwise, this is ordinary.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

