…..And a Happy New Year…….

Yes, it has started, another trip around the sun. To be honest, around here it started as being somewhat uneventful, outside of a little culinary experiment which did work…except for one minor detail…but about that later.

For one, I or rather the cats and I did not go anywhere. Nothing against going into town to celebrate, after all we used to do that as kids with the parents [meaning to Times Square and watch the ball drop from the Allied Chemical building….yes I am that old to remember it’s original name LOL] and when we got older…hop the subway into Manhattan to hang out with friends to do same. However….the world in the intervening years has become a tad more insane, a tad more violent, hence the trip into downtown to Pioneer Square would have been a little bit of a risk. So I stayed close to home.

New Years Eve was for errand runs, picking up food and a little online retail therapy. The run itself was just more of the usual….but there were folks in the store I have not seen before..which was nice and a little unsettling at the same time. At the very least, I did have my mission laid out for me beforehand so the rogue’s gallery of a crowd did not upset. And when done, I still had enough left over to do some more ‘therapy’ after the doc’s appointment on Monday.

One of the things I wanted to do here was to start a new tradition with the kitties….as in an evening of watching old Twilight Zone episodes while munching on Chinese Food and sparkling cranberry juice.. To some this may qualify me for a dullness award, but it is a trip as always to explain to the furry patrol who Rod Serling had in his bullpen of writers for what I consider still to be one of the best written and produced programs even aired. They even got understood why I was yelling that line from ‘To Serve Man’ …..’IT’S A COOKBOOK!!’. The Zone was one of the things on the DVD player…there was also ‘2001’, ‘Network’ and a Yes concert. On the last part of this…the concert was a disc I just had to have, due to Yes working with a symphonic orchestra and showing my little ones that like Renaissance and the Moody Blues…an orchestra in the hands of the right rock band is pure unadulterated magic. Plus this was one of the items on the previously mentioned menu that should my crush and I get together will be in the background [See the previous post about ‘A Christmas Wish’]. And my cats LOVE Yes as well….

About the little culinary experiment….it was an attempt to make an alternate item for that future dinner. In this case paella [which is sort of a ‘Cliff Richard Cue’ for those who know me because of a bit of irony in that name] . My version was shrimp, chicken, turkey, scallions, onions, celery and rice [no this was not expensive if that is what anyone is thinking….I was able to pick up the ingredients rather cheaply *S*] along with chili powder. Taste-wise, this was amazing…..but it had a kick that I did not expect. Part and parcel of not having eaten anything along those lines in AGES. But…this just means fine tuning this on another attempt so that the evening after is not spent burning through the library here 🙂

The cats did benefit from the retail therapy as well. These were after Christmas gifts for them, the main one being a new kitty condo. More or less, it was I had to do this because I have to make this up to Marty because she is really ticked. Not at me

mind you…she was upset with her Chargers not making the playoffs. Hence the condo is more or less a bribe, to keep her from going after any of the stockings , hair or even into the secret stash of catnip *S* And in this pic, that is the stare she can give when she is really upset. Which is nice if I want to scare a neighbor.

As for Rachel,  she is happy for the moment. Earlier this afternoon, her Chiefs who did lose to the Raiders are in the playoffs, so the condo will be a great place for her to perch and to view KC during wild card weekend.  Of course, if the Chiefs manage to bollocks up the game this coming Sunday then the

the next thing that may happen here will be her demanding I purchase a couple tickets on Southwest to KCI so she can ‘discuss’ with the management of the Chiefs why they crumbled. Folks who have been by here know Rachel is not a cat one wants to upset at any point. Remember too, she is the one who saw pics of my crush and has determined ‘this is the human you need to be with mom’.

Not that all of this post Christmas exchange of funds from consumer to vendor were all for the cats. I picked up a few items to shore up the wardrobe [in short have enough alternate hair to last a good few years…and yes it was on sale!! I am not a loon who is going to spend what amounts to the monthly payment on a Bentley for hair. That is and would be insane] as well as fill in some gaps in the music collection.  When those arrive, I will be happy *S*

So now we have it. No resolutions as of yet, but one thing on the agenda which is what Valerie my nutritionist is going to help with. This has to do with something rather personal, but suffice it to say….I am not crazy about the rest of the world saying that the image should have more meat on the bones because it would look more ‘correct’ [there is another word that can be in front of ‘correct’ and it is not ‘politically’ ] in spite of the fact that it would not only be counterproductive, but also throw away 3 years of very hard work by that ‘gang of 5 which keeps me alive’. For those who understand what that means, cool then you got the gist. And for those who say the last point was sour grapes, then by all means go to blazes.

That is it for now…and again from the land of the colortini…..enjoy the blog as the words and pics fly through the air.

About rheapdx1

Just another geekette from the Pacific Northwest. Windows computer tech, as well as the mom to 2 cats. My blog is more or less about life; the adventures in fixing PC's, the trips to the doctors....otherwise known as my 'gang of five who keep me alive', the cats...and thoughts about a particular person who I am deeply smitten with [if the person only knew how deep that goes *S*]. Otherwise, this is ordinary.
This entry was posted in Goals, Plans, Hopes, Life, Love, Transgender, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

