Phase One is done, we rock with more to come..security with just that one thing missing

Aye, tis what ye see above is the flightdeck which is what was used to help not only create the website but is where I do most of the lookups and find fixes for those clients I have, PC repairwise.  Both machiens are Dells, a laptop and a desktop, along with a large expansion drive, scanners, digital cameras, a printer and other goodies. There is good reason now to have expanded on this and it has to do with what happened this weekend.

The first phase of the project has been done. Finished in record time may I add. What this was is a listing of at least several hundred different types of vaccuum tubes. RCA, Motorola, Sylvania, GE….you name the brand, we got a cross-referenced number for it. With this part of the base completed, it is now a matter of inserting into same the amount, cost of each and the shipping for same. Not a big deal really….that would be the ‘easy’ part. This happened at the right time due to the fact that Sunday evening, an email came in from the client that for all intents, rocked us. In a good way folks….we are now looking at the work being expanded by a factor of close to 30. I wish I was joking….HAR HAR….but yes that is what it looks like. Not that we are not up to it, far from it. I see this as a challenge…to make the end product look as good as others in a similar vein….if not moreso. Plus I am pretty fraking proud that this looks as good as it does.

The letter from the other evening means that any free time over the next few days will be spent creating the new pages along with an ordering system, which will work once all the other items for same are in place. I look forward to this, although it will mean being indoors while that funny orange disc in the sky actually attempts to show up and the temps struggle to go above their own ‘Mendoza Line’. But I have set a sched for this, where it will be 2 days of work, one out and about. That along with no throwing away the good work that has been done to keep the diet going. After all the last thing I want to do is to look like a lot of gamers who for some reason failed to understand there is a need to excercise the appendages.

All of this does mean there that the job security is going to be there for a longer time than I had thought. Which in this day and time means a lot and not just for the purse. It means also a different mindset, a sense of happiness that I am doing something on my terms….[the cats pick up on this too!!!] ok those of the client….but still at my pace, as long as that meshes otherwise. It is going to….there have been lessons learned down through the years about working with one’s client, as opposed to me being the ubertech and my word being law. Does not work that way folks contrary to what some folks may say.  Same thing like because I am TG or black that I should have done this work only if the person who commissioned this was same. Yeah, I know the ghettoism idea, which does upset me…but with things being what they are, there is less time to even want to worry about that. Besides, working only in that particular quagmire will severely limit my opportunties…having seen that happen with associates of my relatives for years due to race, like hell I am going to go through that crap. 

If you are wondering what I am thinking in this pic, it has to do with the crush and that seeing she has mentioned before that she has computer skills but there are some other issues, the idea came about to maybe offer some of this to her. No it is not something as in ‘if you do this, you will owe me. Hell no…that is not it. If the cco-op were to happen it has to do with the fact that I want her to show her chops. To prove that she can do this and maybe even do this as a career at some point. She is a damn good photographer in her own right and knows about graphic design. Those skills can cross over to site design, hence it is a logical step. And I want to encourage that, if only because to be blunt, someone did that for me…but I was close to my 30’s at the time and had some other items which sort of messed up getting on track in a career which I am passionate about. 20 years later, I have not lost the feel for the field. I want for **** to have the same thing happen before time slips away.

Oh yes…before I run here, I did say was going to detail that connection between two of my fave bands…Renaissance and America. In 1983, Ren had released an album called ‘Time-Line’ which has been univerally called one of the sadder collections of songs put on vinyl. Yes there is some good material on it, but overall it was sad. They had earlier in the year played the Palladium in NYC and the reaction was mixed. With that, ok…..did not think they would come back after what was a limited tour of the east coast of the US. Well there was the summer concert series on one of the west side piers of Manhattan which was sponsored by Dr. Pepper. Nice venue, right next to the USS Intrepid Air Museum. And of all the crazy things….there was a concert announced where Ren would be on the stage…..opening for America. Say what? Something is wrong with this idea was my thinking.

Night of the concert, it is raining. Not a nice summer rain, one where there was a chance lightening was going to strike the stage and electrocute someone. Well it didn’t and Ren looked out of place. Their set was one hour exactly…..which was a downer, in that they seemed to have rushed through their material. Even the final song of the set ‘A Song For All Seasons’ was just not the same. No encore. Then came America’s set, which was an extended one for the remaining 1500-2000 people who were still there, including myself. And they blew Ren off the stage, which was something I still shake my head over. It is nothing against Dewey Bunnell, Gerry Beckley et al…but this was something wholly unexpected.

So that is it for now…going to connect myself to cranberry juice or Snapple tea IV’s for the next few  days/weeks or so. And as per usual…from the land of the colourtini….enjoy the words [especially those for one dear friend] as the picures fly through the air.

About rheapdx1

Just another geekette from the Pacific Northwest. Windows computer tech, as well as the mom to 2 cats. My blog is more or less about life; the adventures in fixing PC's, the trips to the doctors....otherwise known as my 'gang of five who keep me alive', the cats...and thoughts about a particular person who I am deeply smitten with [if the person only knew how deep that goes *S*]. Otherwise, this is ordinary.
This entry was posted in Cats, Crushes, Diets, Goals, Plans, Hopes, Life, Love, Music, Photos, Transgender, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

