Laying a foundation….the work news is getting better..the diet works…all that is missing is….

This week gets off to one hell of a darn good start and it has to do with another phone call from the webpage client. In the course of the coversation, it was mentioned there is going to be a serious extension of the products to be on same, as well as a couple new items, both of which are close to the heart here, but for different reasons. One of them is going a seperate area for makeup [yes the SO of the client scored a major amount of makeup from different manufacturers] and model trains. It was the mention of the trains that got me going. This has to do with the fact that in addition to them being different manufacturers, some of the sets, cars etc are imports from Germany. This took me back quite a few years, for a couple reasons….

One has to do with the fact that in the previous life, the family cat and I would spend nights on the weekends working on a 4′ by 8′ layout I had in the basement. Shrimpy loved looking at the trains as they would circle around, even batting a freight car or two. When I would strip down an engine to fix or overhaul same, she would stare intently. If she were human, she would have made one hell of an assistant at the time *S*. The other reason was that each Christmas, without fail when we were kids, the major department stores would have in their windows many toys, the most prominent of which was a remote controlled trainset. One particular display filled me with envy, that being the Maarklin display at FAO Schwartz. Not only was it remote controlled, but the little villages contained therin were like built in great detail, right down to the pumps at the Esso station. I had wanted to have something like that in the home for years….but it was not to be. So maybe I might purchase one of the sets we will be selling…and have Rae and Marty run their own little railroad. Or maybe knock over boxcars.

In hearing the above, my heart skipped a few beats and then after that went back to normal, I was over the moon. If the other calls had not cemented the job, this did it.  Yes, I will be getting out more so that I am not tied to the PC during the summer…but when home, I will be seriously busy. This will be something where I can proudly say ‘ I did something on my summer vacation!!’ LOL. This in addition to the occassional outside repair job….things will be covered. it is not to brag, in fact…I try to be somewhat careful in some places describing what is going on. One reason is that I do not want to sound like I am ‘celebrating in front of folks who died’ –  a line from the movie ‘Major League, but you get the idea. Another reason for truncated mentions or non at all in a few places is that there are some folks who have this idea that someone in my position should be working in something that is more fitting. This has been mentioned before here; it is a little bothersome to be told to always lower ones expecations or standards because of one’s ethnicity or gender, etc. Plus if I had done something that crazy, gee….we would have lost our collective shirts, tops and fur [the cats]  here. That or end up tranquilizers because the big bad world had done a number on me. Plus the thought of doing something along those lines fills me with a consuming anger to the concept, as all consuming as a 6-alarm fire in a bamboo and canvas tent.

The diet is still working, for which I am really happy. As the docs have mentioned, this is an ongoing process, so as long as the improvements are steady without being drastic, heck yeah I am happy with it. Compared with last year, this is a major improvement…and I hope **** sees the improvement as well. Granted, I am not just doing this to look more attractive, but those of y’all who have been reading these postings know that the riot acts have been read to me more times than I can count now from ‘the gang of 5 that keeps me alive’ have helped as well. All that is missing are the kind words from ****. My online friends have been helpful and encouraging, which has made a lot of the difference here…and even they know that if that one part if filled in, life would be as close to perfect as possible.

And with those above, it is time to head off into the virtual sunset. So til next time…..from the land of the colourtini….enjoy the words as the pics fly through the air.

About rheapdx1

Just another geekette from the Pacific Northwest. Windows computer tech, as well as the mom to 2 cats. My blog is more or less about life; the adventures in fixing PC's, the trips to the doctors....otherwise known as my 'gang of five who keep me alive', the cats...and thoughts about a particular person who I am deeply smitten with [if the person only knew how deep that goes *S*]. Otherwise, this is ordinary.
This entry was posted in Cats, Crushes, Diets, Goals, Plans, Hopes, Life, Love, Transgender, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

