An ‘oilchange’ with damned good news…3 years in the making…

Let’s start out with the fact that the most recent ‘oilchange’,  which was on 11/22 was amazing. While I am used to good news from others around here…more often than not from those who I tutor or have become a second mom for [more on that later in the post], this was one for the books. And something said it was going to be like that when I arrived way earlier than normal.

This was at the nephrologist’s and Todd’s staff are way cool….plus cat-fans to boot *S* No sooner did I put on the headphones, start listening to Renaissance’s Christmas Concert for WNEW back in 1976 on the CD and was reading a magazine about fall cooking recipes, that Todd called me in. He was happy…ok we are normally happy to see each other….but this was different. And I was soon to find out why. This had to do with the last test results….

If you have been reading along, you know that a while back I had mentioned that the numbers were indicating that I have stage 3 kidney failure, with the treatment focused on keeping the numbers from getting worse to 4 and then 5 [where the treatment options are not the most pleasant…like dialysis etc]. But the numbers from these tests indicated that the patterns have REVERSED themselves and I am close to being back to where they were BEFORE the multiple illnesses hit 3 years ago. Yes you read that right….and for those who are medically inclined to check my numbers…let me give you the key items:

eGFR 41ml/min/1.73 m2

Creatinine 2.06 mg/dl

HGB 14.2g/L

To the average person and even a geekette like myself, these numbers may not mean jack, but when read by an MD they mean a crapload. This means that even with the age, race [a word I despise…but that is there for identification/comparison purposes] and even when taking into account what had happened over the past few years….these are amazing. Suffice it to say that Todd and I both had smiles on our faces over this. And it makes sense; with few exceptions …..I am very strict about what is in the diet [as in unless time conspires and I have to get a pizza from the Hut down the block] , I am walking much more than before…or trying to stick with an up 1 day 2 down two schedule, as well as being in environments, more or less online where there is a more positive and warm atmosphere.  When all of these factors are combined, the conclusion would be that these have helped to make for a situation where there is a lot of good coming out from same.

So the end result was that this was a damned good visit….with the minor fact I do need to up the dosage of vitamin D. The weather in Portland this time of year being what it is, the sunshine vitamin is at a premium and it not something that can be absorbed by walking into Powell’s, Freddy Kroger or Starbuck’s. The D is on a script for the time being and then I have new bloodwork which will need to be done in several months….however, with that…this was the visit that confirmed that all is on the right track.

I called my sis right after and she was over the moon about this. We have seen each other through a lot over the years and now our lives are on rolls of sorts. Her children are doing quite well in their respective fields, she is in a position to have a significant energy saving startup running in the next few months so when I mentioned to her what happened, it was just another part of the positive vibrations. Then when I got back home after picking up food for the next few days…I emailed **** to let her know the news, told the cats and then my online family. And in reflecting on what happened, it became clear that all of these items have made it possible to be in the position I am in now. That being that the good that happened healthwise was the result of all of the above working …openly or invisibly to bring about a more happy outlook.

Hence in tonight’s email to ****, I recommitted to the friendship, no matter what happens….so that she would never, ever have to worry about yours truly not being supportive, loving etc. I also talked to the cats as well in detail about how there is something greater at work here, making sure I am around…which in the case here means that I will be the pillow and the supplier of organic catnip for them to munch on when the Chiefs, Chargers, Packers or a favorite DVD [be it Renaissance, The Moody Blues, Yes, Pink Floyd, Fargo, 2001, etc] is on *S*. And I told my online friends, the folks who I have become very close to in recent months that they have and continue to have a major part in helping to keep things sane here…a favor which will be returned in multiple ways. To name each one here would take a lot of room on this blog….but they have made it easier to navigate what is going on and I hope to have returned the favor.

Oh yes….I know there are some who are thinking that if the kidney numbers have improved as they have in a significant fashion, if I can be put on the HRT. So let’s answer that now….NO. There are some who would say I am not seeing the right doctors or play acting at what is going on …..but here is the deal: there is no doctor who I am seeing either in my gang of 5 or their associates who is crazy enough to run the risk of a malpractice suit by rec that the HRT be given to someone whose busy is dealing with other issues that are a little more serious. Hence, while to those whose prodding along these lines would be tantamount to bullying in other corners….one can live and be trangendered without going on the chemical soup. After all would one want to be around to have fun with their friends, listen to a concert, go to a ballgame, go to a restaurant, share time with their cats[dogs, etc] and do so sans pains or give into some rather arbitrary concept of what their life should be, only to be reduced to having the body not feel well and by proxy taking down the mood to persistant state of a malaise based ‘omnifog’ [the word ‘omnifog’ is copyrighted by me and is Patent Pending]. Think about it folks…..there is some logic in the Chayefsky-esque rant there….

So there we have it for now…..looks like after 3 years the tide has been turned. I am hoping that as such, that circle I am in remains as positive as they are and that **** sees the good that is happening here. As well as is a part of same in the future….With that…..from the land of the colourtini….enjoy the words as the pics fly through the air….

About rheapdx1

Just another geekette from the Pacific Northwest. Windows computer tech, as well as the mom to 2 cats. My blog is more or less about life; the adventures in fixing PC's, the trips to the doctors....otherwise known as my 'gang of five who keep me alive', the cats...and thoughts about a particular person who I am deeply smitten with [if the person only knew how deep that goes *S*]. Otherwise, this is ordinary.
This entry was posted in Bullying, Cats, Crushes, Diets, Goals, Plans, Hopes, Health, Life, Love, Music, Photos, Race, Transgender, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

