4 years in and almost back to abby-normal….

No I have not lost my mind or any semblance of sense by using what may appear to some as a wine bottle for the intro here. Far from it….it is just that, after the visit with Steve the Cardiologist…there was a reason to celebrate and to do so safely. And this pic was something I was using as a signal to some very close friends of mine that the news was good from the latest visit with a member of the ‘Gang of 5 that Keeps Me Alive’ [more on who I mean in a few]. If the news was not that good, well the picture would have been different, but that was not the case at all *S*

This past Monday was my semiannual visit with Steve to make sure that this ‘owner of an only heart’  was in good shape. And this was no different than what happened with Todd or Wai recently, as in that I was expecting in a sense that this would go just the same. Heck I was even early for the appointment, which was a good sign and after being checked in, making the jokes about the fact I do not look anywhere near the age on the ID and a few with the nurse about this being another ‘oilchange’, Steve came in and we had a nice chat. [What I should mention here is that (for those who are wondering and y’all know who you are) there was no ‘pronoun trouble’ here with my crew over at that clinic or the others. Even if there is, compared with the other issues here, that is the LEAST of my combined worries] He read through the past few reports and there was that nice, wry Iowa City smile of his which meant that he is pleased with the current results. These were the BP….DOWN. The chemistries….NORMAL. And the one thing that he was going after me about a while ago [which was mentioned here several posts back under the heading of a ‘riot act’] the weight is.was lower than the previous visit. All of this adds up to the fact that the body is getting back to some level of semi-abby-normalcy, which I have not seen in close to 4 years and as a result….I do not have to see him again for at least another year.

This is progress, this is beautiful and during the visit….in addition to crediting Steve with getting the ball rolling on this by not just the riot act, but the right meds [as well as Nick, Wai and Todd doing same], I told him that the diet I am on has played a major role here. While the temptations of 5 of the major reasons for why the obesity rate in the US is as high as it is are within easy walking distance of this flat, I stayed away from them as much as possible [unless the trip to Pizza Hut cannot be avoided due to weather and other issues], stayed within the parameters of a very dull diet, walked as often as possible and kept the stress levels down to what would at best be called a dull roar. Which is where a few other items have come in handy, which need to be given credit to and for.

For one….I do credit that little dispatches from the front that I do get out from here each night to a particular party. In a sense while this is sort of like out of the fabled tale of Cyranno, the fact that the outlet is there to say what is on the mind and yes the heart does help the mental state here. And it is my hope in that regard that **** sees it in that vein.

Secondly there ahve been those in that lovely twitter family of mine. Not just the ones who I chew over what is going on here on a daily basis and get feedback on how to handle same….this is invaluable on so many levels, but also the ones who I am like a second mom or after the fact teacher to. And in particular there are a few who in turn have helped me to in the case of one….the visage [she is like a younger twin to me, has hipped me to some videos on You Tube which have in turn helped me to correct some errors that I have made along the way] as well as being one I can chat in detail about the ups and downs of our local footie club;  another one who I have shared my love of books, as well as our mutual affection for those lovely felines we respectively live with  [so much so that our daily greetings include regards from our respective cats *S*] and one person who is last on this list but not least, in that the chats we have had in the past were as eye opening as they were one of those things I looked forward to in the same way that I look forward to seeing that big orange disc in the sky which bears a resemblance to the logo for the Gulf Oil Company. [The fact that she plays a guitar which looks like the one Mickey Dunford of Renaissance is now running with instead of his usual Addamas 12 string is a plus *S*]. And those are chats and words I again hope and look forward to again because well….all those who I hang out with are pretty damn cool. Unique in their own ways…..and then there are thosw where there is something which says that there is something really great they will do in the future and even if there is a little distance, that that wonderful future time is shared among good friends.

I would be remiss if I did not mention my cats here…..Rae and Marty, The RoyalBadnesses who not only keep me in line, but also are the training ground for those little lectures I give my twitter kids, but who help me stay grounded. That is until…and the stare Rae gives me each night is like this…..’the right human comes along and keeps mom company so we can get online and ruin her ebay account!!’

 

 

 

 

 

And with that…it is time to close this chapter out for now til another time when there will be more news from the Western Front. Something says that even my friend  and the real voice behind Renaissance, Betty Thatcher, who passed on several months ago would be proud of the fact that life here is starting to look like some of her more hopeful and uplifting lyrics…..which is not a bad thing in the least. So from the land of the colourtini…..enjoy the words as the pics fly through the air.

About rheapdx1

Just another geekette from the Pacific Northwest. Windows computer tech, as well as the mom to 2 cats. My blog is more or less about life; the adventures in fixing PC's, the trips to the doctors....otherwise known as my 'gang of five who keep me alive', the cats...and thoughts about a particular person who I am deeply smitten with [if the person only knew how deep that goes *S*]. Otherwise, this is ordinary.
This entry was posted in Cats, Crushes, Diets, Goals, Plans, Hopes, Health, Life, Love, Music, Photos, Transgender. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

