Celebrating…..celebration….

You are probably wondering exactly what is meant by the title. Well for one, it is a line from the play and movie ‘Bang The Drum Slowly’, about a baseball team, one of who’s players is about to die of an incurable illness and the bond that was formed not just with the team, but that which he had with one of the starting pitchers. Even though it is a baseball movie, it is not a baseball movie and in that regard it fits here…due to two things that have happened.

In the nightly dispatches I have sent out to ****, I have mentioned the current ongoing progresss with the diet and the pic up top is more evidence that the ‘gang of 5’ and I are on the right path. Walking is easier, the mental state is on a somewhat more even keel and most importantly….*S* I am swimming in a lot of the clothing I have. While to some this may seem somewhat….well contradictory due to going against ‘conventional wisdom’ [see the last few posts for a little background]..but gee whiz, this is fantastic. Along with the added plus that I look younger , which is a pretty darn good thing. So when I make remarks about ‘I remember when _________’ , it has that little added bonus of shock value.. Which is not to be mean spirited…that is just how things seem to work….and I will take that any day of the week.

The other reason for the title is that a project I am working on ….it’s part one will be making the airways on the east coast in a couple weeks.  While for reasons having to do with proprietary iissues, I cannot say what type of business it is, but I can say the following: the script for this is dead on…the images being used, especially for the industry this is in hit in such a way that their overall nature is not apparent until the last 10 seconds. If this sounds like I am talking about an aural and video version of an O. Henry short story, or for that matter something out of a Rod Serling script, that is partially on purpose. What Rod did was amazing….and if I could even come about half as close to what he did, in an advert form, then I will be happy.

There is another reason to be happy about this, aside from the team effort with others and the cats listening to what I was sounding out. It is another item that is being done outside of a politically correct axis that seems to exist in other corners. If I were to try to work within same, well I would still be either waiting for Godot or being like Diogenes with the lamp patiently looking for a sign as to when the action will start [the other issue I am involved in to the contrary]. That is not a bitter statement so much as it is a comment on the somewhat patronizing attitude that still exist. Put another way: if I had offered to do this for a circumstance which would say that those in ‘that community of ours’ who look like me would be featured in media saying all we think about is ‘horizontal enrichment’, my email would be clogged with requests to do so. But something mainstream coming from someone who is not a part of the clique, well then that person is about as visible as the carrier pigeon would be these days. As in nowhere…

However, it is a time to do some celebrating for the cats and I, as well as those folks in the circle [even though many are online] who were a part of this by putting up with yours truly the past few weeks.  The cats will have their celebratory amount of catnip and munchies, me I got started with my fave from Subway.  There is some more good news in that there is another little visual bundle of joy that may show up in  about two months. By that time,  the calendar will show that another journey around the sun has been completed.

And with that, this dispatch closes out. Til next time….from the land of the colourtini….enjoy the words as the pics fly through the air.

About rheapdx1

Just another geekette from the Pacific Northwest. Windows computer tech, as well as the mom to 2 cats. My blog is more or less about life; the adventures in fixing PC's, the trips to the doctors....otherwise known as my 'gang of five who keep me alive', the cats...and thoughts about a particular person who I am deeply smitten with [if the person only knew how deep that goes *S*]. Otherwise, this is ordinary.
This entry was posted in Bullying, Cats, Crushes, Diets, Goals, Plans, Hopes, Health, Life, Love, News and Politics, Photos, Race, Transgender, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

