A little ahead of schedule, which bodes well for down the road…

RFLKRNEW855With this being the time that it is, there is some good news to report, which goes along with the other items that will show up in this dispatch from the front. This has to do with one particular item happened ahead of schedule. Which in itself helped to put the smile on the face, as well as making the cats and the ‘Gang of 5 that keeps me alive” happy as well.

Let’s start off with what is shown in the above pic: Yes, the drop has been significant, to the point of a total of 79 pounds since the ‘riot act’ being read by Steve the cardiologist. This while not a perfect process, let alone an exact science, has worked. Keep in mind that when one does this, the benefits are not exactly present on the spot, they occur over time. Little things, like being able to walk with ease to the further away bus stops or even to the mini-marts if need be for tea, running on occassion -be that after the cats when they are acting up, or for the bus if I see it is closer to where I live than I expected at a particular time. There is also the fact that the mental state is greatly improved. Which also in itself, explains why SidebySide2the smile as it were is different. On the left that is the usual ‘gee let’s try to do something’ type, which was part and parcel of the years when I was not really doing the healthiest of things, food or excercise-wise, while on the right is the ‘yes I am happy with the overall new and more rewarding reality of the situation’. Which is a little more honest than what one can see in other places.

Not knocking what goes on elsewhere in the least. If that is what or how one sees life as being able to put on a ‘brave’ or contrived visage, fine. But there is something to be said when this is coming from the heart of the person. While a lot of that here has to do with the weight loss, there is the other part that has to do with being in a better emotional space. No, this is not something out of the ’60s [not where I am coming from in the least here], but it is over the past couple years. My cats having played a major role in this due to the fact that they were supportive, in their own furry, unrequited way. After all, they are the ones who are here when I am watching a concert or a movie on the DVD or the telly and have rode on my shoulder as I have been on the net. In particular, Rachel who has been more like the friend/conscience that helps me to make a more clear headed decision about where or rather how I should proceed on things.

In addition to this are those folks who I know on the net….be they the ones who I am very close to because we talk about work, school, movies, cats, science, sports, music, relationships, relatives, goals…in short life beyond some of the ‘bubbles’ which do exist. I would be remiss if I did not lead off the list of those who I talk to if I did not say that **** [yes those who know me know who I am talking about and not naming the person is not to obfiscate, as much as it is to respect the privacy] has been key to a lot of the progress. While the dialog again has been more Socratic at times, that does not mean that it does not exist. And the fact that the heart feels human and humane in the posts from here to her, does help the mood to feel lighter, even if at times I may through in a ‘Ralph Kramden’ type of idea. But I have shared via email the triumphs and the pitfalls ove the past year[s] and that helps more than she may ever know.

As much as that relationship means and going back to where the last paragraph was headed…those friends of mine really have meant so much, it’s amazing. Be the person a ‘twin’ of mine in the EU or others who I am deeply connected to, more than I am in, what is often referred to as ‘3D’…no matter what part of the world they are in..there is a connection which is based on a higher road, a higher plane of friendship which goes beyond the 140 character limit or the idea that ‘if one chats in one space, they are to speak in this fashion, think in this fashion…’ That is not meant to be terse, just the fact that there has to be more to speaking with others vis a vis just ‘play acting’ or being shallow.

RFLKRNEW858 Oh yes, I would be an absent minded, mad word scientist here if I did not mention that the musicians I know online have had a major hand in this. Folks whose works I not only grew up on, but these days almost make it a mission to tell the cats about, but others as well. Parts of this were spurred on by the passing in recent months of Betty Thatcher and Michael Dunford, who were the key voices behind what ‘Renaissance’, as well as the friendship that has developed here with remaining members Jon Camp [who thankfully has not read me the ‘riot act’ about insisting that at some point he re-record a song off of ‘Time-Line’ called ‘Orient Express’ with strings and horns like those from ‘Earth Wind and Fire’ *S*], Terry Sullivan [another maniac on the skins who kept things tight, but is also one heck of a darn good writer on his own accord], John Tout [their original keyboardist in the ‘classic five’ lineup, who also shows one hell of a flair for jazz figures on some of their vintage works], Mickey Simmonds [who I got into listening c/o his work with Mike Oldfield and others….and is a maniac on synthesizers] and Tom Brislin [yep, he of Yes fame for a while and also when he was paired with Rave Tesar during Ren’s expanding to the 2 keyboardist setup was as much of a maniac as Mickey *S*]. The fact that the sound helps me to feel good about things and also play air guitar or air keyboards while in the juice aise over at the Kroger has been part of keeping the mood upbeat, as well as the memory and spirit of Betty and Michael alive.

RFLKRNEW862glass

So there we have it….and now it is on to making sure over this next year, as well as moving forward…that the drop of lbs stays where it is [although Lord knows I will have to get some new outfits, dropping 4-5 dress sizes will do that]. This along with making sure that those connections I have with my friends stays there as well as being helpful so that they can succeed, that my sister’s company does have great success this year and beyond, that the family business that I write ad copy for maintains it’s upswing, This along with other items mentioned in the past….if greater and more joyous good comes down the turnpike as a result, then I will be happy. The cats will too because their mom is happy….

RFLKRNEW860

And with that, til next time….from the land of the colourtini, enjoy the words as the pics fly through the air.

 

About rheapdx1

Just another geekette from the Pacific Northwest. Windows computer tech, as well as the mom to 2 cats. My blog is more or less about life; the adventures in fixing PC's, the trips to the doctors....otherwise known as my 'gang of five who keep me alive', the cats...and thoughts about a particular person who I am deeply smitten with [if the person only knew how deep that goes *S*]. Otherwise, this is ordinary.
This entry was posted in Cats, Crushes, Diets, Goals, Plans, Hopes, Health, Life, Love, Music, Photos, Transgender, Work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A little ahead of schedule, which bodes well for down the road…

  1. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both equally educative and
    entertaining, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The problem is something which not enough folks are speaking intelligently about.
    Now i’m very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something concerning this.

    • rheapdx1 says:

      Thanks….but this was not easy and to be honest, if I were to have followed paths that were not the most positive or those used by others that failed [not knocking others per se, but being a little more direct and sincere on this end], I would have failed as well on this. Hence, it is still a work in progress.

      If you were to look back on several other posts here about what the diet is, as well as why this came into being, you will understand why it is working. The challenge, of course now is to not only surpass the goal that has been reached, but to maintain same. That in a sense, does run counter to what is called ‘conventional wisdom’ among others, but when one sees what is at the offices of the ‘gang of five that keeps me alive’, one needs to wonder why some are following the crowd. Lest it be something about belonging, even if it is for the wrong reasons.

Leave a Reply

